2010 Will Take You Higher

It looks like this year is going to be a blast. I am sure you heard me saying this more than one time during the last days (facebook, twitter, you name it).

2009 was a very interesting year in many aspects: The global economy crises, Google slaps, Yahoo & MSN joining forces, Twitter, Facebook, these are just a grain of 2009 interesting events.

I am known to be a positive guy. Some will even say a dreamer. I do enjoy my success but I do criticized my mistakes as needed (and trust me, I do lots of mistakes). Since every end it’s a start of something new, I find this time of the year a good time for self examination.

I am surrounded with good friends and business colleagues that together contribute to my success.  You can make money online solely, but you can make much better if you will develop the right structure around it: people, business connections and even (highly recommended) business partner.

The human nature likes rounded numbers. Its motivate us. We look after symbolic elements to support our difficulty.  Those who are getting married in 2010 probably try to set their date for 10/10/2010. Those who plan to bring a baby, probably doing their best these days.

But the truth is I do believe that there is a big chance that you will do much better than you did in 2009. And here are my 5 reasons:

  1. Google domination in the online adverting will start to fade out in the next decade while Yahoo, Facebook, twitter and more none search services are about to enlarge their piece in this cake.
  2. Bing popularity will increase. Business agreements like HP/Microsoft to make Bing the default search engine in new computers are just the start in this interesting battle. It will not be the same as with Netscape, but do not underestimate Microsoft tactics.
  3. The mobile advertising market will continue to rapidly grow.
  4. Thanks to YouTube and other rich media channels, affiliate marketers are now more exposed to quality information. Conventions are now available online, taking out the boundaries than ever before.
  5. The way people search on the web has to be change: Most of the people use three words and more in a search query, and still the search results are relatively poor to what you would expect.

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Less than a month for Affiliate Summit West 2010

So who else is coming this year to the sins city?
I will be there! And as its looks so far it’s going to be a huge event.
I will tell you in a later post about my plans for the affiliate summit west this year. But for now, feel free to contact me if you are planning to attend and you like to meet me in person.

I always look to meet my readers and always look for new business opportunities.

Cya in Vegas

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My first show at the A4U Expo

A4UIt’s time to visit at the A4U Expo in London. Affiliate Summit is great, Affilicon is awesome as well, but I am always looking to expand my options and the A4U looked like a good way to deep my knowledge and my business connections within the European affiliate market.

So I found myself in London, at the Excel exhibition center at the suburb of London, about 30 minutes by the tube from the center of London.
The Excel exhibition center is a nice place but is located in an area that you don’t want to get stuck at night, at least not me. There is nothing around but docks and few hotels. The transportation to the center of London is so easy, so the decision to book a hotel at the heart of London definitely proved itself as the right one.

The show itself was well organized. It’s not in the scale of the affiliate summit. I would say that close to 1,000 people attend for this show.

In the exhibition hall most of the exhibitors were local companies. This is good because that was the main reason for my visit. There were some local affiliate networks along with some local merchants. I found some new business opportunities. It’s early to talk about the chance to succeed with them, but it’s a good start.

Although I didn’t have much spare time, but between one meeting to another, I took the opportunity to enter to some of the sessions. The sessions at the A4U, at least the one that I entered, were a bit different from what I’ve got used to so far: More information less people who try to sell their product or their name. However, most of the information deals with SEO rather with PPC and social networking. The sessions were less innovations but with deep saying.
I didn’t meet any “super affiliate” that managing huge amounts with PPC. However, I did meet some guys who own amazing websites with lots of organic traffic.

For me London is always a good place to visit at. I was lucky to meet a great weather: sunny but not hot!
You can’t (cont :) ) expect more from an affiliate week.

The A4U is relatively new event comparing to the Affiliate Summit. I believe that it will get better. See you next year at the A4U in London.

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Watch Out – AdWords New Feature View-through Conversion

Few days ago Google announced about a new AdWords feature – View-through conversion reporting. It’s allowing advertisers to check the efficiency of their display ads in terms of impressions rather than click through. Even if the user did not click on the ad, Google still allow the advertiser to measure its effectiveness based on the advertiser goals.

Today I would like to share with you my thoughts about this Google move. How affiliates marketers might get affected.

The display ads market is been controlled by several players like double-click (now own by Google), right media and others while the biggest Google competitor on that market is Yahoo.

The display ads market worth lots of money. The biggest companies in the world, big names like Amex, Coca-Cola, and GE are spending huge amount of money every month.

The PPC affiliate business model is based on arbitrage. We buy traffic, hopefully cheaper than what we get in return, whether it’s a CPA offer or revenue share.

When Coca-Cola advertises on the web they would like to keep the awareness for their brand. A brand campaign is different than a typical affiliate campaign. The goals are different and are been measured differently. Brands campaigns are known with their high budgets. And where the big money is, Google would like to be!

So after Google acquire double-click their next step was to integrate double-click inventory within their Google content network. Now Google enhancing their tracking system to meet the big firms brands campaigns. With the new feature that was lately released we can learn something about Google future intention, at least for the display ads market.

There is no doubt that this change will affect the affiliate industry:
1. More competition on every spot – in these case rich competitors
2. Brands campaigns, especially with the big names, includes huge budgets. This will increase the effective CPC (usually brands campaigns are been calculated by CPM).

If so far we got used to compete with performance based competitors, who are looking for a positive ROI, now we have to deal with a different players playing by a different rules.

I believe that this is only the start of a bigger move after the top advertisers on the web. The affiliate marketing industry is a major part of Google income but it’s also one of their top biggest headaches, caused by affiliates who use Google AdWords to promote gray products. At the ends of day Google is the one who need to deal with their users complains, maintaining support teams etc.

Google probably prefer to sale their inventory to the less choosy– Brands campiness. It’s not that Google have something against affiliate marketer, it’s just easier to work with big accounts rather with those who spend $100,000 per month (no it’s not a typo, Google will prefer account of $5,000,000 a month). As Google will fill those spots with Brand campaigns, more and more affiliate accounts will be banned and/or more restrictions will be added to AdWords policy. Either way, it’s not going to be easy for affiliate marketers, at least not at the Display Ads market.

I believe that during 2010 we are about to experience some major changes with the way Google treat affiliate marketers. In my opinion those who will play by Google (changing) rules will survive (Especially those who spend lots of money each month).

Affiliate marketers have ever been and will always be the smatters among the online advertising businesses. It’s something that no one will be able to take away from us. So keep your mind open and be ready to hear more from Google. I’m sure it will come soon.

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Take off with your landing page

A good affiliate campaign includes three critical elements: traffic, landing page and a good converting product. Most of the affiliates are focusing about the traffic. Some understand the importance of the landing page and even less are trying to understand the benefit of the product vs. other competitors’ products.

In this post I would like to tell you about a real story: How a an affiliate marketer, my friend, left money on the table just because he was lazy to pay attention to the details.

I sat with my friend this week in a coffee shop. We do that from time to time, sharing with each other ideas. My friend showed me one of his new campaigns landing page that he has been working on in the last two months.

As a veteran affiliate, he did A/B testing with two versions of the landing page. He checked the effectiveness of his landing page in terms of click through – The percent of people who visit the merchant website via his website. But that’s the point where he stopped, because in his opinion the difference between the landing pages performance is negligible.
How negligible? 43% vs 37%

In this niche there is no doubt that 40% click through (CTR) rate is fairly acceptable and even a bit higher than the average. Probably this is why he was impassive about the A/B testing results, knowing that his campaign perfuming relatively well. That’s the problem with veteran and with newbie’s as well – we tend to forget where to put our effort in terms of time consuming.

Before you start struggle with your traffic make sure you did all in your power to improve your landing page performance (CTR). In this case the 6% difference worth more than $1,000 in net revenue per month!

But you will probably not get convinced, as my friend was not, until you will see the math behind it. So here we go:

The average daily clicks to his page is 600 (yep, it’s a small/mid campaign)
The conversion rate within the merchant website is 4%
The payout is $24

The gross sale for LP 1 is:
600 * 0.43 * 0.04 * 24 = $247.68

The gross sale for LP 2 is:
600 * 0.37 * 0.04 * 24 = $213.12

Since we are talking about the same traffic, with the same cost, the difference between these landing pages results is NET PROFIT.

So the total net profit will be
(247.68 – 213.12) * 30 = $1,036.8

With less than 5 minutes of work my friend will get an addition of ~$1,000 per month depends which landing page version he will choose.

Think that if you have 5-7 medium PPC campaign, 6% difference within your landing page can give you more than $5,000 per month.

More than that, to get the same addition net profit using the landing page with the low CTR you will need to raise your traffic by more than 16%!
(Assuming that the converting ratio will be kept for the new traffic as well)

Keep this in your mind next time you try to think how to increase your PPC campaigns performance.

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